External Link Disclaimer

This hyperlink does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Navy of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the U.S. Navy may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.

-RDA > Acquisition Workforce > DON Acquisition Excellence Awards
DON Acquisition Excellence Awards
The annual Department of the Navy (DON) Acquisition Excellence Awards Program recognizes individuals and teams who have made outstanding contributions in promoting competition and innovation in the Navy and Marines Corps acquisition process throughout the fiscal year.
Established to acknowledge the importance of these characteristics, the Secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) annually recognizes those military and Government civilian individuals and teams who have made the most outstanding contributions in enhancing competition and innovation throughout the acquisition lifecycle and in support of Navy and Marine Corps acquisition programs.

Award Categories and Eligibility
Timeline: The call for nominations for the prior fiscal year will be announced annually in December with nomination packages due in February.  Specific dates will be included as part of the call for nominations.

Awards Panel: Chaired by the Principal Civilian Deputy for ASN (RD&A), this panel will convene to make final selection recommendations to ASN (RD&A). The panel will consist of one representative from each of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy(DASN) offices, Office of Small Business Programs(OSBP) and the Director, Acquisition Career Management (DACM) Office. The panel membership will consist of at least five flag/general/Senior Executive Service(SES) level members.
 For more information please contact:  AcquisitionAwards@navy.mil 

FY 2012 DoN Acquisition Excellence Award Winners:

Rear Admiral Wayne E. Meyer Award                                             
Rear Adm. Thomas J. Eccles
Chief Engineer
Naval Sea Systems Command
Acquisition Professional of the Year  
Captain Paul Ghyzel
Program Manager, Navy Communications Satellite Program Office
PEO Space Systems, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command

Dr. Al Somoroff Acquisition Award  
Maritime Patrol & Reconnaissance Aircraft Program Office (PMA 290)
Naval Air Systems Command
Team members were CAPT William S. Dillon, Martin Ahmad, CAPT Aaron Rondeau, Holli Galletti, Ronald Oblen, CDR Dominic Caronello, Thomas Pillion, CDR William Coleman, Joseph Willette, James Joachim, Stephen Facini, James McDermott, David Proctor, Mark Lower, Lewis C. Cobaugh, Julie Johnston, and Robert McCall.

Field Acquisition Activity Award
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center - Atlantic
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command
Team members were *Kay Swann, *Brad Hoisington, Cliff Costa, Ken McCullough, Danielle Holmes, Frankie Brown, Tami Willis, Harry Bowser, Katherine Muckenfuss, Crystal Dahlia.

Technology Transition Award  
Office of Naval Research/Program Executive Office (C4I), Intelligence Carry-On Program team. Team members were *Mo Kane, Tom Johnson, David Lee, LCDR Andy Hoffman, LCDR Remil Capili, CAPT Drew Caldera, Rob Connelly, CDR Chas O’Neal, Chuck Schuman, Robert Kraft.
Office of Naval Research/Naval Research Laboratory Marine Meteorology Division/ Navy Global Environmental Model Development Team. Team members were *Dr. Melinda S. Peng, Dr. Timothy F. Hogan, Dr. Carolyn A. Reynolds, Dr. Nancy L. Baker, Dr. Benjamin C. Ruston, Dr. James A. Ridout, Dr. Ming Liu, Dr. Jonathan R. Moskaitis, Mr. Timothy R. Whitcomb, Dr. Stephen D. Eckermann.

Expeditionary Contracting Award
I Marine Expeditionary Force (Forward) C4 Operational Contract Support Branch Unit
United States Marine Corps Installations & Logistics
Team members were *Maj. Donald Oliver, Capt. Jeffrey Garza, Master Sgt. Telly Renfroe, Staff Sgt. Reynan Benasfre, Staff Sgt. Antonio Whitehead, Sgt. Lindsey Sine.

Office of Small Business Programs Secretary's Cup  
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command.
Team members were *Faye Esaias, Mark McLain, Robert “Zack” Zaccaria, Aubrey Lavitoria.

Office of Small Business Programs  Sarkis Tatigian Small Business Award
Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren
Naval Sea Systems Command

Office of Small Business Programs  Oreta B. Stinson Advocacy Award
Robert Smith
Naval Air Systems Command
Mark R. Schultz
Naval Facilities Engineering Command

Competition Excellence Acquisition Team of the Year  
AEGIS Combat System Engineering Agent Competition Team (PEO IWS).
Naval Sea Systems Command
Team members were *Michael Roberts, *Brendan O’Mara, Ann Mabe, Alex Marin, Robert Lyons, Christopher Gaffney, Ima DePietro, Katherine Moran, Robin Zapert, Alvin Murphy.

Innovation Excellence Acquisition Team of the Year 
Persistent Ground Surveillance Systems Team.
Naval Air Systems Command
Team members were Chyau Shen, LCDR Krista Moses, Alland Leandre, Eric Kosten, Michael Dickerson, Barbara Petrzilka, Kevin Smith, Patrick Smith, Andrew Sieracki, Stephanie Linck.

Small Business Team Award
Program Executive Officer Land Systems
Marine Corps Systems Command
Team members were *David J. Dawson, Austin “AJ” Johnson, Jodie Shifflett, Judy Campbell, Patrick Garrard, Lenore Boissiere, Dung “Zoom” Phan.

*   denotes team leader

Full Article
RADM Meyer Award article

FY2011 Excellence Award Winners
FY2010 Excellence Award Winners

Contact Us!

Special Assistant for Public Affairs
Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development & Acquisition
1000 Navy Pentagon 4C656,
Washington, DC 20350

Office Contact:
Email: webmaster_navyaos@navy.mil

Contact the Webmaster

This is an official U.S. Navy website
Contact the Webmaster - Please read our Privacy Policy Notice - No FEAR Act - Section 508